Mobile Internet

WhatsApp’s newest update will ask users before adding them in a group

WhatsApp chat open with a pen on it

WhatsApp is something which is mandatory to have if you know the internet and own a smartphone. It is quite understandable if you are new to WhatsApp and don’t understand some of the features. A lot of times, WhatsApp veterans or people who have been using WhatsApp for a long time end up in groups where you know absolutely no one. The purpose of the group is scary and you are wondering who added you to that group and why?

The questions are valid but the most important thing at that moment is that your number is shared with hundreds of people and you don’t know how that happened. Apart from this, there are possibilities that people may contact you and harass you because of that group. Some of the groups might have motives that end up hurting one’s sentiments and it is hard to understand how you ended up there and how you have managed to find people who are harassing you now. That being said, this was because anyone with your WhatsApp number could add you in a group without your consent. This is not true anymore.

WhatsApp made an announcement yesterday and it was something its users were craving for a long time. The Facebook-owned messaging application said that it is going to update the privacy settings for the group features. This is that it will allow the users to select the people or a group of people that can add them in a group.

This is a huge development as many people, especially female users will be helped. The company put out a statement where they said that groups connect a lot of people. Family, friends, colleagues, classmates and many more but the users wanted more control over things. This is why the company has given them control over who can add them in the group.

The statement read, “WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, coworkers, classmates and more. As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience. With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive.”

The feature can be found in Account>Privacy>Groups, where you will get three options – My Contacts, Everyone or Nobody. These three options are for the people who can add you in groups. If you select everyone that means anyone can add you in the group without your permission. My contacts option allows users in your contact to add you in the groups without your permission. And nobody means that no one can add you in a group without your permission. This is a much-needed update for the users which will help them keep the hecklers away from them.

Comment here