Mobile Internet

WhatsApp Brings Back 30-Second Video, Facebook Allows Users To Lock Profile

Social Media Apps by Facebook

WhatsApp has started to roll back its 30-second video for WhatsApp Status. During the lockdown, WhatsApp had reduced the time down to 15-seconds or less due to server load. Now, as spotted by WABetainfo, WhatsApp is bringing back the feature, starting with WhatsApp Beta.

As seen in the latest WhatsApp for Android beta v2.20.166, the company has once again increased the video status upload limit to 30 seconds. All users on Beta can update the app to see the extended limit. That said, it is reported that Facebook may be rolling out the update based on WhatsApp preferences. Also, at present you may not be able to see the update on the Play Store immediately.

Moreover, the app is set to receive dark mode on the web as well. The Facebook-owned social messaging platform has already brought dark mode to its application on Android as well as iOS. However, the dark mode remains missing from the web interface of the service. While the company is officially working on bringing dark themes to the web, you can go ahead and enable dark themes right now.

In other news, Facebook users in India are now getting a new privacy feature which helps them lock their profile. This will ensure that any random person trying to look for your photos or profile picture is not able to see them.  The company has made this option thinking about the safety of women on the platform but even male users on Facebook can lock their profile picture if they want to. The feature is rolling out to users in India in the coming week.

So once the person enables the profile lock, the other person will only be able to see the profile picture. They will not be able to expand the size of the image or see anything else. Anyone will be able to access the feature from more options on their profile. Over there users will have to tap on the lock profile option. Once it’s enabled, you will see a blue badge in front of the profile which means it is locked.

In addition to locking the photo, the user also ensures they are not able to post anything publicly. In fact, users will not be able to see themselves tagged on other’s photos unless they disable the lock feature from their profile. And in order to make the post public, they will have to unlock their profile.

Earlier this week, it had announced the Shops platform to help businesses to list products for sale. This will make it easier for companies to list their products on Facebook and Instagram.

Comment here